The 2018 WNBA All-Star Game Gets an Upgrade

Expect a new look all-star game from the WNBA; from the athletes chosen and the voting format.

Every year fans wait for the WNBA to evolve and expand. This year’s WNBA All-Star 2018 game gets revamped.

Here’s How

For the first time in WNBA history, Minnesota will host this year’s All-Star Game. Expect the newly renovated Target Center to be filled with fans on July 28.

Taking a nod from their big brother, the NBA, the league has decided to throw away the conference pool of players who will play in this year’s game. Sort of like the old-school neighborhood pick-up games back in the day, the WNBA has decided the two athletes with the highest number of votes will be captains and choose the teams. They’ll have 20 players to pick from, forming 11-player teams.

New Voting Format

  • Fan votes 40%
  • Head coaches vote 20%
  • Current players vote 20%
  • Journalists and media vote 20%

The fans will be able to pick their top 10 players. Whereas the coaches, players, and media will have more range when voting. They’ll pick nine guards and 13 frontcourt players to round out the voting. To stop bias, players and coaches are not allowed to vote for members of their own team.

Things To Remember

  • June 19 -  All-Star voting opens
  • July 13 - Coaches with the two best records will be selected All-Star coaches
  • July 17 - WNBA to announce the pool of players and two captains
  • July 19 - League will unveil two-team rosters during the Washington Mystics vs. Dallas Wings broadcast (8 p.m. ET)
  • July 27 - Captains and coaches to determine starters
  • July 28 - WNBA All-Star 2018 at 3:30 p.m. ET

Let me know on Twitter if you expect to see the usual perennial All-Stars this year, or a new selection of first-time All-Stars! 

Like what you've read? Share it with your friends on      or  

Power Rankings

Power Rankings for the 2020 season. Updated weekly.

Player Rankings

Player rankings for the 2020 season based on selected categories.

WNBA Schedule

View upcoming games for the 2020 WNBA season.

© 2014-2021 Hashtag Basketball